Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

All research protocols that propose the use of recombinant DNA must receive prior approval from the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

University of Miami SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) Research Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines

In keeping with NIH and CDC guidance, the Institutional Biosafety Committee and Environmental, Health and Safety are requiring that all research with live (isolated) SARS-CoV-2 virus be performed at BL3. There are currently no BL3 facilities at the University of Miami; therefore, this research is not authorized at the University.

All other work involving SARS-CoV-2, including clinical specimens and use of recombinant/synthetic nucleic acids, must be registered as per the attached table, Research Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines. Projects involving the use of recombinant/synthetic nucleic acids from SARS-CoV-2 will also require IBC approval. Project approvals will detail the required containment practices for the proposed work.

 

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) meets on the following dates:

Submission Deadline Date Meeting Date
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 Thursday, November 21, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019 Thursday, December 19, 2019
Wednesday, January 6, 2020 Thursday, January 23, 2020
Wednesday, February 5, 2020 Thursday, February 20, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020 Thursday, March 19, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 Thursday, April 16, 2020
Wednesday, May 6, 2020 Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020 Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday,  July 1, 2020 Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020 Thursday, August 20, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020 Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 30, 2020 Thursday, October 15, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020 Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020 Thursday, December 17, 2020
Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Thursday, January 21, 2021

 

If you have questions, please contact Ellen Kapsalis, Ph.D. Director Research Compliance at 305-243-2311 or email ekapsali@med.miami.edu

 

Guidance Documents

 

Forms

Each time you fill out a new form, please download it from this website. The forms will be updated periodically. If you experience difficulty opening a document, please download directly to your computer.

Human Gene Transfer Research

 

Educational Materials and Resources